Day One : I made it to the Swiss Alps!

Agnes and me

It’s evening now on my first day here at Schiers where I am to help Agnes with her B&B guests.

I travelled from Leeds to Manchester and thence with a Swiss flight to Zürich Airport. The train station is right inside the airport so I managed to catch the train one hour earlier than I had expected as I already had my ticket for the day’s travel. For Schiers you have to change trains twice – at Zürich Main Station and in Landquart where you join the pretty red Rhätische Bahn for the short journey to Schiers. Much of the journey is alongside the Lake of Zürich and then the Walensee. As you leave the lakes the snowy mountain peaks appear and you feel you are really in the Swiss Alps.

My room

Agnes met me at the station and prepared the meal whilst I unpacked and settled into my room. It’s a typical Swiss style – pine walls and furniture and I’m beginning to make it my own. We ate supper on the verandah – bruschetta followed by local white asparagus with salmon and potatoes, then Alpen herb tea to follow.

Schiers from room

Schiers from my window

Looking up the Prättigau Valley from room

The Prättigau Valley from my window

From the supper table

View from the Terrace Table

Leave a Reply

